Monday, January 28, 2013

Rupp's Run Recalls Coghlan & O'Sullivan Indoor Mile Glory

In Boston this weekend Galen Rupp ran the seventh-fastest indoor mile in history, covering the distance in 3:50.92. The publicity he has received for this great effort serves to highlight just how fast two iconic Villanova milers were in their heyday. Eamonn Coghlan was the first man in history to break 3:50 indoors for the mile (see video above) -- a 1983 world record of 3:49.78 that went unbroken for 14 years. He still owns two of the top 4 indoor mile times in history, earning him the moniker "The Chairman of the Boards." Fellow Irishman Marcus O'Sullivan, who captured three indoor world championships in the 1500 meters, went into this weekend as owner of two of the top 10 indoor miles of all time. Between the two of them, Coghlan and O'Sullivan dominated the Millrose Games' Wanamaker Mile, winning the premier indoor mile race 13 times. Indeed, when O'Sullian ran 3:50.94 on February 13, 1988, Coghlan and O'Sullivan were the two fastest indoor milers in history.

Rupp deserves massive kudos not only for his 3:50.92 on Saturday, but for his ability to be that fast over one mile while being the Olympic silver medalist at 10,000 meters. His mile accomplishment also served to shine a light on the these men below, owners of the 15 fastest indoor miles in history:

 1.  3:48.45    Hicham El Guerrouj (Morocco)    02/12/97
 2.  3:49.78    Eamonn Coghlan (Ireland)        02/27/83
 3.  3:49.89    Bernard Lagat (USA)             02/11/05
 4.  3:50.6     Eamonn Coghlan (Ireland)        02/20/81
 5.  3:50.70    Noureddine Morceli (Algeria)    02/20/93
 6.  3:50.81    Noureddine Morceli (Algeria)    02/08/91
 7.  3:50.92    Galen Rupp (USA)                01/26/13 
 8.  3:50.94    Marcus O’Sullivan (Ireland)     02/13/88
 9.  3:51.20    Ray Flynn (Ireland)             02/27/83
10.  3:51.34    Bernard Lagat (USA)             02/10/09
11.  3:51.66    Marcus O’Sullivan (Ireland)     02/10/89
12.  3:51.8     Steve Scott (USA)               02/20/81
13.  3:52.02    Peter Elliott (Great Britain)   02/09/90
14.  3:52.18    Rui Silva (Portugal)            02/15/01
15.  3:52.30    Frank O’Mara (Ireland)          01/25/86

No comments:

Post a Comment