Friday, June 10, 2011

Reid Wins NCAA 5000 Crown over Infeld, D'Agostino & Hasay -- Bogdana Mimic 12th

Sheila Reid ran a tactical masterpiece tonight in Des Moines, to win the NCAA title at 5000 meters. Running mid-pack through 4000 meters, she moved up to the top of the race to join Oregon's Jordan Hasay (who ran in 2nd for the bulk of the race). At the bell it was Hasay, Reid, and Emily Infeld of Georgetown who broke away. Reid passed Hasay with 200 meters to go, and was followed by Infeld. Hasay faded to 4th and Reid held off a valiant effort by Infeld to win the title. The race followed a script very close to that of the NCAA cross country race last November. Same three protagonists at the end, with Reid and Infeld surging past Hasay who made an unsuccessful bid for the win. Reid and Hasay will meet again tomorrow in the 1500 meter final.

 Yr Affiliation Time     Pts        
1 Sheila Reid JR Villanova 15:37.57 10
2 Emily Infeld SO Georgetown 15:38.23 8
3 Abbey D'Agostino FR Dartmouth 15:40.69 6
4 Jordan Hasay SO Oregon 15:41.00 5
5 Kathy Kroeger SO Stanford 15:45.55 4
6 Megan Goethals FR Washington 15:47.79 3
7 Emily MacLeod SR Michigan State 15:48.20 2
8 Aliphia Tuliamuk SO Wichita State 15:51.37 1
9 Kendra Schaaf SO North Carolina 15:52.33
10 Emily Sisson FR Wisconsin 15:53.90
11 Bogdana Mimic SO Villanova 15:55.09
12 Tara Erdmann SR Loyola Marymount 15:55.83
13 Paula Whiting SR Tulsa 16:00.78
14 Amy VanAlstine SR Richmond 16:06.15
15 Betsy Flood JR Iowa 16:08.63
16 Stephanie Marcy SR Stanford 16:10.33
17 Lydia Kosgei JR Eastern Kentucky 16:10.81
18 Leslie Kovach SO Penn 16:16.10
19 Jennifer Bergman SO Arizona 16:17.06
20 Alex Banfich JR Princeton 16:19.70
21 Rachel Patterson JR Miami (Ohio) 16:23.04
22 Brooke Eilers JR Iowa 16:25.62
23 Rhiannon Johns JR UAB 16:29.21
24 Laura Carlyle JR Oregon State 17:05.61

photo credit: Don Paige

No comments:

Post a Comment